Santa Claus, to let kids believe or not to let kids believe?


Jolly ol' saint Nick

Growing up, I was never lead to believe in Santa, or any other made up creature. My parents believed to tell your kids the truth was the right thing to do.It is, no doubt about that.

But, what if you are someone  who has grown up in a christian home, considers yourself a christian, but, sometimes, has trouble in believing in this ‘God’? What if, he, like Santa, is someone that you have to believe exists, even when you’ve never seen him, with your own eyes, because, your parents never let you believe in Santa?

Like me.  At least that’s what I think when I sometimes doubt that God exists.

I believe in God. I mean, you think that the sport of hockey was created without someone like Him? I don’t. It’s just that sometimes, in my darkest moments, I find it very hard to believe that he is out there, when I can’t actually see him.

That being said, I believe that a parent should allow their child to believe in Santa, or the Easter Bunny, etc. Yes, I know  that it is lying to your kids, but, I feel like it’ll help strengthen their ability to believe in things that they can’t see with their own two eyes in everyday life.  Also, if I were the parent, I would squash the Santa Claus belief when they were old enough to understand. Later on, I would explain my reasoning behind what I told them and hope they understand.

Leave a Reply

